Canada Winter Games

The Canada Games is a high-level multi-sport event, held every two years in Canada, alternating between the Canada Winter Games and the Canada Summer Games. Athletes are strictly amateur only, and represent their province or territory.

The Games were first held in 1967 in Quebec City as part of Canada's Centennial celebrations. For the first time in Canada's history, 1,800 athletes from 10 provinces and two territories gathered to compete in 15 sports. Under the Games motto "Unity through Sport", these first Canada Winter Games paved the way to what is now Canada's largest multi-sport competition for young athletes.

The governing body for the Canada Games is the Canada Games Council, a non-profit private organization incorporated in 1991.  The individual games are run by the local host society, a non-profit private organization created for the purpose, in accordance with an agreement between the local host society, the government of Canada, the government of the province or territory, the government of the municipality, and the Canada Games Council.

The Canada Games and their lasting legacies continue to be the catalyst for the growth of sport and recreation across the country.

Past Canada Winter Games

1967 Quebec City, Quebec

1971 Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

1975 Lethbridge, Alberta

1979 Brandon, Manitoba

1983 Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean, Quebec

1987 Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

1991 Prince Edward Island

1995 Grande Prairie, Alberta

1999 Cornerbrook, Newfoundland and Labrador

2003 Bathurst / Campbellton, New Brunswick

2007 Whitehorse, Yukon

2011 Halifax, Nova Scotia

2015 Prince George, British Columbia

2019 Red Deer, Alberta                                                                                                                                                             

Future Canada Winter Games

2023 Prince Edward Island